Grammar Goofs #1

Many times my students ask me why they need to learn good grammar.  They seem to think unless they intend to be an English teacher or a writer (and few do), they don’t need to use grammar correctly.

I would like to present a series of examples of poor grammar, misspellings, and other errors that make the writer appear careless and unintelligent.

 

The first example comes from an online news blog , the Gateway Pundit.

 

UPDATE: Barack Obama told NBC tonight “I don’t think that we would consider (Egypt) an ally.”
(Maybe he should have thought about that before he through Mubarak under the bus!)

http://www.thegatewaypundit.com/2012/09/

Obviously, the writer meant threw instead of through.  To me, it seems that when an author makes such a basic error, he loses credibility.

 

The second example is an email that I recently recieved from my insurance agent.  Note that it is unprofessional and difficult to read.

 

GOOD STUDENT DISCOUNT

Inbox

***********@statefarm.com

Sep 11 (2 days ago)

to me

BOTH GIRLS ARE RECEIVING GOOD STUDENT DISCOUNT NOW ONE IS ON ACCORD THE OTHER ON CRV THERE IS A CHANGE IN THE SYSTEM TO EXTEND GSD ON THE CRV IF THER3E IS ANY PROBLEMS WE WILL GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU VIA EMAIL.  I ALSO NEED SOME NEW CONTACT NUMBERS, NONE OF THE PHONE NUMBERS WE HAVE ARE CORRECT.

THANKS,

BECKY

 

There is so much wrong here:

  • All capitals
  • No punctuation
  • Subject / verb agreement errors
  • Run on sentences

Wow!

If a business wants to be taken seriously, they need to pay attention to detail, and that includes using good grammar.

 

I still intend on rewriting my essay from last time.  I just thought it was time for a break from compositions.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Grammar

One response to “Grammar Goofs #1

  1. You know, I was once told by a younger coworker that my insistence on writing out the words in my texts was a waste of time and hard to read. She informed me that it was easier, better, and more intelligent to type out ‘r’ instead of are, ‘2’ instead of to or too, and ‘y’ instead of why, among others.

    It saddened me to hear.

Leave a Reply

